The EU taxonomy for sustainable economic development

Sustainability is a multifaceted topic and can be interpreted in different ways. The variety of definitions of sustainability can become a problem, for example, when it comes to the question of what exactly sustainable management is. The European legislator has also recognized this. One important economic sector that is dealing with this challenge is finance. With the help of a uniform classification system, a taxonomy, the EU wants to standardize sustainability for financial products . What at first glance seems to be relevant only for banks and other financial institutions will also entail considerable information and documentation Company for small and medium-sized enterprises

Ziele der EU Taxonomie für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

What is the EU taxonomy?

A taxonomy is a procedure that systematically subdivides and classifies concepts by creating categories. The EU taxonomy was published as part of the 2018 "Action Plan: Financing Sustainable Growth" presented by the European Commission. A key objective is to redirect capital flows into sustainable investments. 

This requires a uniform definition of what sustainable activities are, in order to obtain clear criteria for sustainable financial products such as funds, green bonds or financial investments. This is intended to improve the transparency of companies in terms of sustainability and counteract greenwashing. It is also aimed at providing incentives for sustainable investments.

How are activities classified as sustainable?

The taxonomy assesses the extent to which an economic activity is environmentally sound (Environment), socially responsible (Social) and whether it corresponds to the principles of good corporate governance (Governance). Six goals have been defined so far for the area of environment. (1) climate protection; (2) adaptation to climate change; (3) sustainable use and protection of water and marine resources; (4) transition to a circular economy; (5) pollution prevention and control; and (6) protection and restoration of biodiversity and ecosystems.

An economic activity is considered environmentally sustainable if it

  • makes a significant contribution to at least one of the specified objectives,

  • the other objectives are not compromised,

  • and a minimum level of protection of workers and human rights is ensured.

Furthermore, the regulation covers three different classes of environmentally sustainable activities:

  1. Activities that contribute to sustainability.

  2. Transitional activities: These activities support the transition to a carbon-neutral economy, but cannot yet be implemented in a more environmentally sustainable manner.

  3. Enabling Activities: These are necessary for enabling for one of the first two activities. These include, for example, the production of solar panels needed to generate renewable energy (Category Activity 1).

The EU taxonomy provides for an additional information requirement for implementation. The regulation thus supplements defined disclosure requirements to the EU's "Regulation on sustainability-related disclosure requirements in the financial services sector" already published in 2019. In the course of this, there will also be new reporting obligations for capital-oriented companies from 2022.

The current status of the EU taxonomy

The taxonomy regulation entered into force on July 12, 2020, although the elaboration of some criteria is still ongoing. The regulation will then be applicable from January 01, 2022. Providers of sustainable funds will then have to prove to what extent they have used the taxonomy in determining sustainability, and banks will also increasingly pay attention to these sustainability criteria - also when granting loans.

What does it mean for companies, especially SMEs?

The EU taxonomy can initially be a major challenge for companies, especially SMEs, due to additional information and documentation requirements. Even if they are not directly affected in many cases, they may be indirectly affected by it as suppliers to companies subject to reporting requirements or when seeking financing. For example, business partners that are subject to reporting requirements under the EU taxonomy need information on the sustainability of all elements of their suppliers. If your own company is part of this chain, it should be prepared to provide information on EU taxonomy criteria. 

This also becomes important when external financing is planned in the company. Banks have various obligations. In order to be able to fulfill them, they will increasingly focus on the sustainability characteristics of the financed activity, also when granting loans

However, the EU taxonomy also offers opportunities for SMEs. If the company offers solutions in one of the three classes of environmentally sustainable activities, the modernization of the company can benefit from green financing instruments and realize large investments, e.g. through green bonds vis-à-vis donors and other stakeholders or to fulfill subsidies..

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Show video

How can I, as an SME, prepare for the EU taxonomy today?

In this case, it is better to be safe than sorry. The changeover period until 2022 can be used to prepare for the requirements. Even if the reporting obligation does not directly affect one's own company, the topic will become more relevant in financing. 

In order to be able to check its company for taxonomy compliance, it needs data, software and procedures for evaluation, which must then be checked and audited. It therefore makes sense to develop a strategy today and to create responsibilities within the company at an early stage. 

WeShyft will integrate the EU taxonomy as a standard for reporting.

We help you to fulfill the documentation and information requirements of the EU taxonomy. Sign up for our newsletter and get informed as soon as we launch this feature.

Neueste Posts & Insights

Die EU-Taxonomie für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Nachhaltigkeit ist ein vielseitiges Thema und kann unterschiedlich ausgelegt werden. Die Vielfalt der Definitionen von Nachhaltigkeit kann dann zum Problem werden, wenn es bspw. um die Frage geht, was nachhaltiges Wirtschaften genau ist. Das hat auch der europäische Gesetzgeber erkannt. Ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsbereich, der sich mit dieser Herausforderung beschäftigt, ist das Finanzwesen. Mithilfe eines einheitlichen Klassifikationssystems, einer Taxonomie, will die EU Nachhaltigkeit für Finanzprodukte standardisieren. Was auf den ersten Blick nur für Banken und andere Finanzinstitute relevant scheint, wird auch für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen erhebliche Informations- und Dokumentationspflichten mit sich bringen. 

Ziele der EU Taxonomie für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Was ist die EU-Taxonomie?

Eine Taxonomie ist ein Verfahren, welches Begriffe durch Kategorienbildung systematisch untergliedert und klassifiziert. Die EU-Taxonomie wurde im Rahmen des 2018 veröffentlichten „Aktionsplan: Finanzierung nachhaltigen Wachstums“ durch die Europäische Kommission vorgestellt. Ein wesentliches Ziel ist es, Kapitalflüsse in nachhaltige Investitionen umzulenken. 

Dazu braucht es eine einheitliche Definition davon, was nachhaltige Tätigkeiten sind, um klare Kriterien für nachhaltige Finanzprodukte wie Fonds, Grüne Anleihen oder Geldanlagen zu erhalten.  Das soll die Transparenz von Unternehmen in Fragen der Nachhaltigkeit qualitativ verbessern und Greenwashing entgegenwirken. Außerdem sollen so Anreize für nachhaltige Investments gesetzt werden.

Wie werden Aktivitäten als nachhaltig klassifiziert?

Durch die Taxonomie wird beurteilt, inwieweit eine wirtschaftliche Aktivität umweltgerecht (Environment) und sozial (Social) ist und ob sie im Rahmen einer guten Unternehmensführung erbracht wird (Governance). Für den Bereich Umwelt sind bisher sechs Ziele definiert worden. (1) Klimaschutz; (2) Anpassung an den Klimawandel; (3) nachhaltige Nutzung und Schutz von Wasser- und Meeresresourcen; (4) Übergang zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft; (5) Vermeidung und Verminderung der Umweltverschmutzung; sowie (6) Schutz und Wiederherstellung der Biodiversität und der Ökosysteme.

Eine wirtschaftliche Aktivität gilt dann als ökologisch nachhaltig, wenn sie

  • einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu mindestens einem der festgelegten Ziele leistet,

  • die anderen Ziele nicht beeinträchtigt werden,

  • und ein Mindestschutz von Arbeitnehmern und den Menschenrechten gewährleistet ist.

Des Weiteren werden in der Verordnung drei unterschiedliche Klassen von ökologisch nachhaltigen Aktivitäten erfasst:

  1. Aktivitäten, die einen Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit leisten.

  2. Übergangsaktivitäten: Diese Aktivitäten unterstützen den Übergang zur klimaneutralen Wirtschaft, können aber bisher noch nicht ökologischer umgesetzt werden.

  3. Ermöglichende Aktivitäten: Diese sind zur Ermöglichung für eine der ersten beiden Aktivitäten notwendig. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel die Herstellung von Solaranlagen die zur Erzeugung von erneuerbarer Energie (Kategorie Aktivität 1) benötigt werden.

Die EU-Taxonomie sieht für die Umsetzung eine zusätzliche Informationsanforderung vor. Die Verordnung ergänzt somit festgelegte Offenlegungspflichten zur bereits 2019 veröffentlichten „Verordnung zu nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen Offenlegungspflichten im Finanzdienstleistungssektor“ der EU. Auch für kapitalorientierte Unternehmen wird es im Zuge dessen ab 2022 neue Berichterstattungspflichten geben.

Der aktuelle Stand der EU-Taxonomie

Die Taxonomie-Verordnung ist am 12. Juli 2020 in Kraft getreten, wobei die Ausarbeitung einiger Kriterien noch andauert. Ab dem 01. Januar 2022 ist die Verordnung dann anzuwenden. Anbieter von nachhaltigen Fonds müssen dann nachweisen in welchem Umfang sie die Taxonomie bei der Bestimmung der Nachhaltigkeit verwendet haben und auch Banken werden zunehmend auf diese Nachhaltigkeitskriterien achten – auch bei der Kreditvergabe.

Was bedeutet es für Unternehmen, insbesondere KMU?

Die EU-Taxonomie kann durch zusätzliche Informations- und Dokumentationspflichten zunächst eine große Herausforderungen für Unternehmen sein, speziell auch für KMUs. Auch, wenn sie in vielen Fällen nicht direkt betroffen sind, so können sie als Zulieferer berichtspflichtiger Unternehmen oder bei der Suche nach Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten davon indirekt betroffen sein. So brauchen Geschäftspartner, die unter Berichtspflicht nach EU Taxonomie stehen, Informationen über die Nachhaltigkeit aller Elemente ihrer Zulieferer. Ist das eigene Unternehmen Teil dieser Kette, solltest es darauf vorbereitet sein, zu Kriterien der EU-Taxonomie Auskunft geben zu können. 

Das wird ebenfalls wichtig, wenn externe Finanzierungen im Unternehmen geplant sind. Auf Banken kommen verschiedene Verpflichtungen zu. Um diese erfüllen zu können werden sie vermehrt, auch bei der Kreditvergabe, auf die Nachhaltigkeitsmerkmale der finanzierten Tätigkeit legen. 

Die EU Taxonomie birgt aber auch Chancen für Unternehmen des Mittelstands. Bietet das Unternehmen in einer der drei Klassen ökologisch nachhaltiger Aktivitäten Lösungen an, kann die Modernisierung des Unternehmens durch grüne Finanzierungsinstrumente profitieren und große Investitionen realisieren, z.B. durch grüne Anleihen oder Fördermittel.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Wie kann ich mich als KMU schon heute auf die EU Taxonomie vorbereiten?

Hier gilt: Vorsicht ist besser als Nachsicht. Die Umstellungszeit bis zum Jahr 2022 kann genutzt werden, um sich auf die Anforderungen vorzubereiten. Selbst wenn die Berichterstattungspflicht das eigene Unternehmen nicht direkt betrifft, wird das Thema im Finanzierungswesen relevanter. 

Um sein Unternehmen auf Taxonomie-Konformität überprüfen zu können, benötigt es Daten, Software und Verfahren zur Bewertung, die anschließend geprüft und auditiert werden müssen. Es ist daher sinnvoll schon heute eine Strategie zu entwickeln und früh Verantwortlichkeiten im Unternehmen zu schaffen. 

WeShyft wird die EU Taxonomie als Standard zur Berichterstattung integrieren.

Wir helfen Dir, die Dokumentations- und Informationspflichten der EU Taxonomie zu erfüllen. Melde Dich bei unserem Newsletter an und erfahre umgehend, sobald wir dieses Feature launchen.

Weitere Artikel